In Case of Emergency

He’s knocking on my door like he means it. What else can I do?

“You know, your doorbell isn’t working.”

“Yeah, I know. What’s up?”

“You should really get that fixed.”

“It’s OK, the one downstairs works.”

“You should get it fixed, tell the landlord. He will fix it for you.”

“But you’re the only one who uses it.”

“I’m just saying, you should get that fixed. You never know.”

Perhaps this will be a short chat, I hope. God knows I’m not in the mood for his Weltschmertz.

“By the way, you gotta give me the number of your landline.”

“I… I don’t have a landline.”

“You have a mobile phone don’t you?”

“Yeah I do.”

“Give me the number.”

How do I say this.

“No Neighbour, I’m not giving you my number.”

“Why not? What if there’s an emergency and you need to know about it?”

“Well, in that case, just give a knock on my door.”

“Yeah, yeah. Go fuck yourself.”

Leave a comment